Unmoral (Hikami Kyoko)

3000 yen
released 1997.11.21

This is a solo album by Hikami Kyoko (氷上恭子).

The tracks are as follows.

  1. Anata ga Iru Kara.... (あなたがいるから‥‥)
  2. Omoide ha Ame no Naka (想い出は雨の中)
  3. Naino (ないの)
  4. Yes a Day
  5. Mahiru no Tsuki (真昼の月)
  6. Kimi wo Mamoru Tame ni Boku ha Yume wo Miru (君を守るためにぼくは夢を見る)
  7. Sophia
  8. Borderline
  9. Boku no Hoteri (僕のほてり)
  10. Fly To The Future
  11. Ichiman Doru no Sasayaki (1万ドルの囁き)
The lyrics come with handwritten comments by Kyoko, as well as many nice pictures, in several different outfits. The first printing comes in a larger cardboard box (with a different picture from the CD) that includes the CD, and a two page booklet, with a picture and message from Kyoko.

Unlike other sophomore efforts I've heard this year, Unmoral builds well on the success of Binetsu. While I can hear a lot of similarities between the two, this album breaks a lot of new ground on its own. It's not totally cute, it doesn't totally rock, but it does have a lot of different styles, that she usually pulls of very well.

My favorite track right now is Kimi wo Mamoru Tame ni Boku ha Yume wo Miru.

[information and comments provided by Joe Petrow.]